BHAG

Haha, this blog post title reminded me of The BFG which is, to this day, one of my favorite books.

BHAG: Big Hairy Audacious Goal.

Lululemon, the Vancouver based yoga and general fitness apparel company is a big proponent of setting goals, making declarations, and all around positive thinking. While I can’t really afford their awesome tanks and “butt enhancing” (according to Miranda) yoga pants I can totally get on board with this idea of setting goals, intents and pushing myself beyond the my own preconceived limits. Enter Sea Wheeze.

Sea Wheeze is Lululemon’s annual half-marathon: 13.1 miles through Vancouver, BC. Last year, its first year, saw more than 7,500 runners of all sizes, shapes, athletic abilities each accomplish, in their own way, goals they had probably set for themselves. In addition to the actual race, there are several opportunities to practice yoga with your fellow runners. Last year there was some sort of sun(down/up) yoga on the beach. There are videos on lululemon’s website and probably YouTube if you want to get a better idea of the energy and environment.

Well guys (the few of you who read this!) Sea Wheeze 2013 is MY BHAG for this year. I was sort of dragging my feet on signing up but last night (also, in full disclosure, pay-day) I took the plunge.

 

Image

 

 

I’m not gonna lie. It’s a scary, huge undertaking. I’ve taken a lengthy break from running and I’m not the fastest runner in the world. BUT it’s certainly not impossible. It’s all about setting smaller goals for myself and striving to meet those. It’s also about understanding that there will be successes as well as failures and not letting myself get discouraged. Most importantly, I think (at least for me) it’s about breathing and enjoying the journey.

August 10, 2013. I can’t wait. I can’t wait to run through Vancouver with people cheering me on every step of the way. I can’t wait to immerse myself in such positive energy. I can’t wait to conquer my BHAG.

Leave a Reply

